THE DANCEURBAN DANCE COMPETITIONMAY 20TH 2017

The Dance was staged for the second time at the Hallenstadion Zurich, with ten of the world's best dance crews battling it out for the urban dance titles. After three hours of thrilling entertainment, the Crew Prototype was the one to make it all the way through, and celebrate their well-earned victory. The Crew OBC (RUS) finished up in second place and the Super Cr3w (USA) on third.

Not only the outstanding choreographies got standing ovation, but also world star Akon. He heated up the mood in the audience and showed everybody how to party. Beside Akon, the British newcomer duo "Bars and Melody" was able to wrap the audience around their fingers. As last year, The Dance exceeded the expectations and the visitors were able to enjoy a first-class show. The level of the competition was extremely high and the crews offered spectacular performances. Also the winners of the Swisstour, the Mazda teams white and black, enthused the audience.

THE DANCE 2017 CREWSURBAN DANCE COMPETITION

In the second round of the dance crews from throughout the world will once again conquered the stage and brought the audience to a frenzy. The ten crews are all the best in their own country and have already been awarded a number of national and international titles.

CREWTEAM UK

Team UK was represented by the Crew Prototype. The Crew is formed of some oft the best individual dances in the UK. Created in 2011, they have since made a strong impact on the scene winning events such as Street Dance Kemp and Funkin’ Styles world finals.

CREWTEAM SOUTH KOREA

The winners of The Dance 2016 will also be here in the second series to defend their title. Morning of Owl is a dance crew from Suwon, South Korea, which has strongly influenced the B-boying community with its creative shows. The crew has already won several breakdancing competitions worldwide.

CREWTEAM SWEDEN

Team Aurora is the Northern Lights crew, made up of eight dancers from different crews such as Soulswear, The Iconic House of Ninja, P*fect, House of Prodigy, Octagon and Grounded. With their different styles, characteristics and experiences, they form a unique team. Among the members of the crew, we find winners of Juste Debout, Streetstar and Latex Ball. The love of dance and self-expression unites the dancers, and their versatility is one of their greatest strengths.

CREWTEAM ITALY

The crew Mnaighty Force is made up of dancers from the whole of Italy, who now want to show what they are really made of. The dancers all come from the three famous crews: MNAIS, whose members appeared in an Italian TV show, NORD FORCE, who have already appeared on Italia’s got Talent, and MIGHTY SILCY, who have already won numerous national and international battles.

CREWTEAM USA

The Super Cr3w, the winners of the MTV Show “America’s Best Dance Crew Season 2” represent the USA. Well experienced Dancers that are in the game for many years and been winning numerous titles. A collective that lives according to the motto “Follow your dreams and never give up”.  Thanks to this positive attitude to life, they have already performed in music videos for stars such as Fergie, Madonna, Gwen Stefani, Missy Elliott, Sean Paul and Paul McCartney.

CREWTEAM GERMANY

The team from Germany comprises the crews K.Mifa, KERAMIKA, Star Wars and The School. The crew is made up of eight dancers with different origins. But that doesn’t matter, as they are all top dancers who have been performing at different events and competitions throughout the world for more than 10 years. The team is full of creative artists who approach their art full of passion.

CREWTEAM JAPAN

Japan is represented by the crew MORTAL COMBAT, which has been working at Universal Studios Japan for several years now thanks to their enormous talent. They now run the Mortal Combat Academy and conduct workshops throughout the world. Not only do they pass on their knowledge to young and enthusiastic dancers, they also demonstrate it in battles and showcases, such as at Japan Dance Delight, which they won four years in a row – the only crew to have achieved this.

CREWTEAM FRANCE

The French team is a mix of members of the different crews DC Vortex, Serial Stepperz, Paradox-Sal, Hype&Spicy, WANTED Posse and VAGABOND. Their new motto "Time to change the rules... and create new ones" seems tailored to this crew, whose aim is to blend feminine strength with male sensitivity and face new challenges together.

CREWTEAM SWITZERLAND

The team is united not just by the love of dance but by a deep friendship that stretches over many years. They grow together from year to year and have already made an international name for themselves. Now they are delighted to have the opportunity to show off their skills in front of a home audience.

CREWTEAM Russia

The Russian crew OBC have been dancing together since 1998. One year after forming the group, they joined up with the guys from Togliatti to take part in the competition “Ready to battle”. This is where OBC’s career began. The crew is made up of dancers from throughout the whole of Russia and is one of the leading crews in the country. They have already proved their amazing ability in diverse TV projects such as “Battle for Respect” and “Urban Dance Hit”.
prev prev next next

SPECIAL ACTAKONTHE DANCE 2017

Akon was not just part of the jury but also performed his greatest hits in a show block. The world-famous singer, who discovered talents such as Lady Gaga and T-Pain, will get the Hallenstadion really rocking and deliver a fantastic show. He performed legendary songs from his extremely successful albums, of which more than 35 million copies have sold worldwide.

SPECIAL ACTBARS AND MELODYTHE DANCE 2017

Bars and Melody are a UK pop/rap duo consisting of Leondre Devries (16) and Charlie Lenehan (18). The band formed in 2014 and since then have had a number 5 UK single, a number 4 UK album, a platinum album in Poland and a number 1 album in the Japanese international chart etc. The band are more than musicians, they were TV presenters on the BBC show 'Friday Download' and have a very popular Youtube channel with over 250 Million combined views and 1.2 million subscribers. Bars and Melody are currently writing their 2nd studio album which is due for worldwide release later in 2017. Foto: © Marianne Harris

TechnicalJURYStorm

Niels Robitzky, aka Storm, is Europe's dance legend no. 1 and brought his expertise to the jury of The Dance. Storm specialises in the dance techniques popping & locking, which he has been practising since he was 14. Bboy legend, pioneer and author – Storm is a phenomenon and has brought urban dance styles to the largest theatre stages in the world. He has strongly influenced the development of urban dance with his unique skills.

TechnicalJURYBuddha Stretch

Buddha Stretch aka the father of hip hop dance is the founder of the „Elite Force Crew“. His influence, discipline and dance genes were passed on by his father at an early age. He has featured in various music videos, live shows and projects. In addition, the choreographer, dancer, dance teacher and performer has choreographed videos from Will Smith (Men in Black), has worked with Michael Jackson and was nominated for two MTV Music Awards in the "Best Choreography" category.

TechnicalJURYDANIELLE POLANCO

The international star is regarded as one of the most versatile talents of this time. Whether hip hop, salsa, jazz or ballet, there is almost no dance style that Danielle did not master. So it is no wonder that she has already choreographed for legends like Janet Jackson, Jennifer Lopez, Usher and Beyoncé. Thanks to her tremendous experience and passion for dancing, she has appeared in more than 20 performances in music videos of stars like Lady Gaga, Chris Brown and LL Cool J as well as in the hit Movie Step Up 2 The Streets and therefore belongs to the elite of the dance world. In addition to her professional career, Danielle is known to be one of the top underground female dancers of this era and created with "Femmology" her very own dance style.

TechnicalJURYROXRITE

Omar Delgado Macias aka Roxrite (Red Bull BC One Allstar & Renegade Crew) is one of the most successful and well-known B-Boys in the world. Grown up in San Diego / California, the millennium has been traveling around the wold for years and is a frequenter on the the stage that means the world. Among other things, he won the most important 1-on-1 breakdancebattle in the world – the Red Bull BC One World Final – in Moscow.

LIFESTYLEJURYAKON

With his powerful and passionate voice, Akon has already released numerous hits in different genres, ranging from pop and R&B through to hip hop and dance. In addition to his own chart singles, "Smack That", "I Wanna Love You", "Lonely" and many more, he has also had an unbelievable 300 featurings, including "Sexy Bitch" with David Guetta as well as feats for icons such as Michael Jackson, Eminem, Lady Gaga, Gwen Stefani, Lil Wayne and R. Kelly. With more than 35 million albums sold worldwide, five Grammy nominations and 45 Billboard Hot 100 songs, he is unstoppable. Now the music legend came to Switzerland on 20 May 2017 exclusively for The Dance and, with his show-biz expertise, rated the dancers as a member of the Lifestyle Jury. In addition, Akon performed his greatest hits in a show block.

LIFESTYLEJURYCARMEN & ROBERT GEISS

Carmen Geiss was so excited about the first edition of THE DANCE that she wants to be a part of it in 2017, too. This time, though, she brought her husband Robert with her to Zurich as well. Together, this dream team evaluated the spectacular performances and battles by the international array of crews. The pair hardly need any introduction: they star in the TV show “The Geissens – A Terribly Glamorous Family”, which has become widely known and loved even outside its native Germany. Carmen and Robert Geiss are your “up-close and personal” celebrities – authentic, approachable and engaged with their fans.

LIFESTYLEJURYMOMO

Maurice Mobetie, aka Momo, is one of the best known entrepreneurs and club owners in Switzerland. When global stars such as Chris Brown, 50 Cent or Rihanna come to Switzerland, you can always be sure that Momo is involved. He works closely with some of the biggest names in Hollywood and many of them are regular guests at his legendary Club Flamingo in Zurich. The glamorous manager is most at home where all the famous stars and starlets from the movie and dance scenes hang out, making him perfectly qualified to be a member of the Lifestyle Jury for The Dance.

FROM PARISDJ YUGSON HAWKSLIVE BATTLE

Dancer, choreographer and hip-hop DJ – Yugson Hawks is an artist with enormous talent and has strong roots in the world of hip hop. He devotes every free moment to his passion of DJing and conjures up pulsating, energetic beats from behind his turntables.

FROM LONDONDJ RENEGADELIVE BATTLE

Thanks to his experience, he is one of the most respected DJs on the hip-hop scene. DJ Renegade is a specialist in creating the right beat for the dancers. He is highly sought after and spends most of his time travelling the world and appearing at the largest dance events.

HOSTJOHN AGESILASSHOWDOWN VOICE

The dancer and choreographer also brought that certain something to The Dance in 2017 with his charisma and enthusiasm. John Agesilas’ voice is part of all the international dance contests and has relayed some of the best showdowns of the scene.

HOSTSERAP YAVUZMODERATION

The TV presenter has been in the limelight now for 11 years and her skill is indeed hard to beat. With her friendly and professional manner, she transforms every broadcast and every event into a spectacular happening.

THE DANCEURBAN DANCE COMPETITION20. MAI 2017

Am 20. Mai 2017 hatten zehn der weltbesten Urban Dance Crews nur ein Ziel: den Sieg bei The Dance. Doch der Weg zum Erfolg war lang. In der Vorrunde musste jede Crew eine knapp drei Minuten lange Choreografie präsentieren, die bewertet wurde. Im Anschluss an alle Auftritte duellierten sich die vier stärksten Gruppen jeweils paarweise in Battles. Diejenigen, die sich durchsetzten, standen im Finale und kämpften im alles entscheidenden Battle um den Sieg.

THE DANCE 2017CREWSURBAN DANCE COMPETITION

Bei der zweiten Ausgabe von The Dance haben wiederum Crews aus aller Welt die Bühne erobert und das Publikum zum Toben gebracht. Alle zehn Crews gehören zu den Besten ihres Landes und konnten bereits nationale sowie internationale Titel abräumen.

CREWTEAM UK

Team UK wurde durch die Crew PROTOTYPE vertreten. Die Crew vereinigt die besten Tänzer des Vereinigten Königreichs. Seit 2011 existiert die Crew und hat seitdem einen starken Einfluss auf die Tanzszene. Das Team UK hat schon mehrere Tanzevents wie Street Dance Kemp und Funkin’Styles gewonnen.

CREWTEAM SOUTH KOREA

Die Sieger von The Dance 2016, waren auch bei der zweiten Ausgabe am Start, um ihren Titel zu verteidigen. Morning of Owl ist eine Dance-Crew aus Suwon, Südkorea, welche die B-boying Community mit ihren kreativen Shows stark beeinflusst hat. Die Crew hat bereits weltweit mehrere B-Boy-Wettbewerbe gewonnen.

CREWTEAM SWEDEN

Team AURORA ist die Nordlicht Crew, welche aus acht Tänzern der verschiedenen Crews wie Soulswear, The Iconic House of Ninja, P*fect, House of Prodigy, Octagon und Grounded besteht. Mit verschiedenen Styles, Eigenschaften und Erfahrungen bilden sie ein einzigartiges Team. Unter den Mitgliedern der Crew sind Gewinner von Juste Debout, Streetstar und Latex Ball. Die Liebe zum Tanz und zur Selbstdarstellung vereint alle Tänzer. Die Vielseitigkeit ist eine ihrer grössten Stärken.

CREWTEAM ITALY

Die Crew Mnaighty Force setzt sich aus den besten Tänzern Italiens zusammen. Am The Dance 2017 haben sie Grosses geleistet. Alle Tänzer kennt man aus drei bekannten Crews: MNAIS, deren Mitglieder in einer italienischen Fernseh-Show auftraten, NORD FORCE, welche bereits bei Italians got Talent teilgenommen haben und MIGHTY SILCY, die schon mehrere nationale und internationale Battles für sich entscheiden konnten.

CREWTEAM USA

Die Super Cr3w, die Gewinner der MTV Show „America’s Best Dance Crew Season 2“, repräsentierten die USA. Sie sind sehr erfahrene Tänzer, die schon seit Jahren in der Szene angekommen sind und bereits mehrere Titel gewinnen konnten. Die Gruppe und die einzelnen Tänzer leben nach dem Motto „Verfolge deine Träume und gib niemals auf“. Mit Hilfe dieser Lebenseinstellung konnten sie schon in Musik Videos für Weltstars wie Fergie, Madonna, Gwen Stefani, Missy Elliott, Sean Paul und Paul McCartney performen.

CREWTEAM GERMANY

Das Team aus Deutschland setzt sich aus den Crews K.Mifa, KERAMIKA, Star Wars und The School zusammen. Die Crew besteht aus acht Tänzern multikultureller Herkunft. Sie sind tänzerisch auf einem Top Level und präsentieren sich seit mehr als 10 Jahren, an den verschiedensten Events und Wettkämpfen, rund um den Erdball. Das Team besteht aus kreativen Köpfen, die voller Leidenschaft für ihre Sache stehen.

CREWTEAM JAPAN

Japan wurde durch die Crew MORTAL COMBAT vertreten, welche dank ihrem Talent für einige Jahre in den Universal Studios Japan arbeiteten durften. Jetzt managen sie die Mortal Combat Academy und geben Workshops auf der ganzen Welt. Sie geben ihr Können nicht nur jungen begeisterten Tänzern weiter, sondern zeigen es auch bei Battles und Showcases. Wie zum Beispiel beim Japan Dance Delight, welchen sie als einzige Crew vier Jahre hintereinander gewinnen konnten.

CREWTEAM FRANCE

Das französische Team ist ein Mix aus Mitgliedern der Crews DC Vortex, Serial Stepperz, Paradox-Sal, Hype&Spicy, WANTED Posse und VAGABOND. Ihr neues Motto „Time to change the rules... and create new ones“ scheint wie auf das Team zugeschneidert, denn es ist der Wunsch der Crew, die weibliche Kraft und die männliche Sensibilität zu verbinden und gemeinsam immer neuen Herausforderung entgegenzutreten.

CREWTEAM SWITZERLAND

Neben dem Tanzen verbindet das Team eine langjährige und tiefe Freundschaft. Gemeinsam wachsen sie von Jahr zu Jahr und konnten sich schon international einen Namen machen. Sie haben sich sehr gefreut, ihr Können vor dem heimischen Publikum präsentieren zu dürfen.

CREWTEAM Russia

Die russische Crew OBC gibt es bereits seit 1998. Sie gehört zu den erfolgreichsten Dance-Teams des Landes - besteht sie doch aus den besten Tänzern der Urban Dance Szene Russlands. Das Team Russia hat schon in diversen TV Projekten, wie „Battle for Respect“ und „Urban Dance Hit“, ihr grossartiges Können bewiesen.
prev prev next next

SPECIAL ACTAKONTHE DANCE 2017

Er gehörte nicht nur zur The Dance Lifestyle- Jury, sondern performte in einem Show-Block seine grössten Hits. Akon, der Stars wie Lady Gaga und T-Pain entdeckt hat, hat das Hallenstadion zum Toben gebracht und eine einzigartige Show abgeliefert.

SPECIAL ACTBARS AND MELODYTHE DANCE 2017

„Bars and Melody“ ist ein junges, britisches Pop/Rap-Duo - bestehend aus dem 16-jährigem Leondre Devries und dem 18-jährigem Charlie Lenehan. Die Band wurde 2014 gegründet und stürmt die Charts - darunter eine Top 5- Single, ein Top 4-Album in den UK-Charts, ein Platin-Album in Polen sowie ein Nr. 1-Album in den japanischen „international Charts“. Die beiden Teen-Idole sind jedoch mehr als Musiker - unter anderem waren die Jungs TV Moderatoren der erfolgreichen BBC-Show „Friday Download“. Ausserdem führen sie einen populären Youtube-Kanal mit über 250 Millionen Views und 1.2 Millionen Abonnenten. „Bars and Melody“ arbeiten derzeit an ihrem zweiten Studio-Album, welches noch in diesem Jahr weltweit veröffentlicht wird. Foto: © Marianne Harris

TechnicalJURYStorm

Niels Robitzky, aka Storm, ist Europas Tanzlegende Nr. 1. Er bereicherte zum zweiten Mal die The Dance Jury. Storm spezialisierte sich seit seinem 14. Lebensjahr auf die Tanztechniken Popping & Locking. B-Boy-Legende, Pionier und Autor – Storm ist ein Phänomen und brachte die urbanen Tanzstile auf die grossen Theaterbühnen dieser Welt. Die Urban-Dance-Entwicklung ist durch seine einzigartigen Fähigkeiten stark geprägt worden.

TechnicalJURYBuddha Stretch

Das Tanzen wurde dem Freestyle Hip-Hop Tänzer durch den Vater in die Wiege gelegt. Buddha Stretch, aka the father of Hip-Hop, ist der Gründer der „Elite Force Crew“, welche in verschiedenen Dokumentationen, Musik-Videos, Live-Shows und Projekten tanzen durfte. Ausserdem hat der Choreograph, Tänzer, Tanzlehrer und Performer bereits Videos von Will Smith (Men in Black) choreografiert und mit Michael Jackson gearbeitet. Buddha Stretch wurde für zwei MTV Music Awards, in der Kategorie „Beste Choreographie“ nominiert.

TechnicalJURYDANIELLE POLANCO

Der internationale Star gilt als eines der vielseitigsten Talente unserer Zeit. Ob Hip Hop, Salsa, Jazz oder Ballett - es gibt so gut wie keinen Tanzstil, den Danielle nicht beherrscht. So ist es kein Wunder, dass sie schon Choreografien für Legenden wie Janet Jackson, Jennifer Lopez, Usher und Beyoncé entwickelte. Dank ihrer unglaublichen Erfahrung und Leidenschaft für das Tanzen, hat sie in unzähligen Musik-Videos von Stars wie Lady Gaga, Chris Brown und LL Cool J getanzt - und sich eine Rolle im Hit Movie „Step Up 2 - The Streets“ sichern können. Auch deshalb zählt Danielle längst zur Elite der kommerziellen Tanzwelt. Mit „Femmology“ kreierte sie einen eigenen Tanzstil und gehört ausserdem zu den Top- Tänzerinnen der Underground-Szene.

TechnicalJURYROXRITE

Omar Delgado Macias, aka Roxrite (Red Bull BC One Allstar & Renegade Crew), gehört zu den erfolgreichsten und bekanntesten B-Boys der Welt. Aufgewachsen in San Diego/ Kalifornien, reist der Tausendsassa seit Jahren um die Welt und ist Dauergast auf den Brettern, die die Welt bedeuten. Unter anderem gewann er 2011 in Moskau das wichtigste 1-on-1 Breakdancebattle der Welt – das „Red Bull BC One World Final“.

LIFESTYLEJURYAKON

Mit seiner kräftigen und gefühlvollen Stimme hat Akon unzählige Hits in den Genres, Pop, R&B, Hip
Hop und Dance veröffentlicht. Zusätzlich zu seinen eigenen Chart-Singles wie zum Beispiel, „Smack That“, „I Wanna Love You“, oder „Lonely“ - hat er unglaubliche 300 Featurings, unter anderem „Sexy Bitch“ mit David Guetta sowie Features für Superstars wie Michael Jackson, Eminem, Lady Gaga, Gwen Stefani, Lil Wayne und R. Kelly gemixt. Mit über 35 Millionen verkauften Alben, fünf Grammy Nominationen und 45 Billboard Hot 100 Songs, ist Akon einer der ganz grossen Stars unserer Zeit. Die Musik- Legende kam exklusiv für The Dance in die Schweiz und hat mit seinem Know-how die Tänzer in der Lifestyle Jury bewertet. In einem Show-Block hat Akon auch einige seiner grossartigen Songs performt.

LIFESTYLEJURYCARMEN & ROBERT GEISS

Carmen Geiss war von der ersten The Dance Ausgabe so begeistert, dass sie auch 2017 wieder dabei war. Zur Verstärkung brachte Carmen in diesem Jahr ihren „Rooobert" mit. Gemeinsam bewertete das Dream-Team die spektakulären Performances und Battles der internationalen Crews. Die Reality Soap „Die Geissens - eine schrecklich glamouröse Familie“, ist über Deutschlands Grenzen hinaus bekannt und beliebt. Carmen und Robert Geiss sind VIP’s zum Anfassen und dabei authentisch und herzlich. Beide geniessen die Nähe zu ihren Fans.

LIFESTYLEJURYMOMO

Maurice Mobetie, alias Momo, ist einer der bekanntesten Geschäftsmänner und Clubbesitzer der Schweiz. Wenn Welt-Stars wie Chris Brown, 50 Cent, oder Rihanna in die Schweiz kommen - steckt Momo dahinter. Er arbeitet eng mit vielen Hollywood-Grössen zusammen. Viele von ihnen kommen immer wieder gern, als Gast in Momo’s legendären Zürcher Club Flamingo. Der glamouröse Manager ist dort zu Hause, wo bekannte Stars und Sternchen der Musik- und Tanzszene zu finden sind. Er kennt sich bestens aus und ist daher eine perfekte Besetzung für die Lifestyle Jury von The Dance.

FROM PARISDJ YUGSON HAWKSLIVE BATTLE

Tänzer, Choreograph und Hip Hop DJ – Yugson Hawks ist ein Künstler mit vielen Talenten und tief in der Hip Hop Szene verwurzelt. In jeder freien Sekunde lebt er seine Leidenschaft als DJ aus und überzeugt hinter den Plattentellern mit einer geballten Ladung Beats.

FROM LONDONDJ RENEGADELIVE BATTLE

Durch seine Erfahrung ist er einer der meist respektierten DJ’s in der Hip Hop Szene. DJ Renegade gilt als Spezialist, wenn es darum geht, Tänzern den passenden Beat zu liefern. Er ist stark gefragt und die meiste Zeit damit beschäftigt, um die Welt zu reisen und bei den grössten Tanz Events aufzulegen.

HOSTJOHN AGESILASSHOWDOWN VOICE

Der Tänzer und Choreograph hat The Dance 2017 mit viel Charisma und Hingabe das gewisse Etwas verliehen. John Agesilas Stimme begleitet alle internationale Dance Contests und stimmt die besten Showdowns der Szene an.

HOSTSERAP YAVUZMODERATION

Die TV-Moderatorin steht seit 11 Jahren im Rampenlicht und überzeugt mit riesigem Moderationsgeschick. Sie verwandelt mit ihrer frischen und professionellen Art, jede Sendung und alle Events in ein Happening.